Blogging My Bliss

This is my first blog post, so I should welcome my readers by saying why I’m here. I’m creating my blog as a space to which I can return from my mythic journeys—whether spiritual, psychic, real travel, writing, reading, or otherwise intellectual—and share informally with my readers some things that I’ve learned and gained from them. I hope that my blogging in turn will stimulate and inspire both me and my readers and lead to a dialogue, and so serve as one point of departure for our future mythic journeys.

My road to this space has been long and tortuous as well as stimulating and rewarding. I started out thinking I would be a professional academic, but decided to become an international lawyer, figuring I could always teach and write later on if I wanted, or even along the way. Indeed, in my 30 years of law practice, I did manage to write some books and also lecture (see About Me, above). At the end of 2013, I was fortunate enough to be able to retire (rather young) from the law, and now I spend full time following my bliss. Over the years, many ideas for research and writings piled up but were put on the back burner, as I had no time to pursue them. Now I do, and this blog is one of the results. I’ll truly be blogging my bliss.

Sometimes my posts will be on significant points about myths in general or particular myths, including one’s personal myth. Others will be reviews or just comments or musings about books I’ve read or films I’ve seen that have mythic themes; other posts will be about mythic travel. I’ve had the good fortune to travel the world and visit incredible places that have been the subject of myths or themselves are simply mythical and inspirational, and I want to share my experiences at them as well as some photos. Occasionally I’ll venture a bit beyond mythology into other related fields, such as history, archaeology, religion, psychology, philosophy, and art.

In short, I’m at The Return from one long journey, so naturally I have much to share. But there are more journeys ahead. I hope you like my blog and get something valuable from it. And I look forward to hearing from you!

© Arthur George 2014

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

